Department S are back playing gigs for what is now the 10th year since they reformed. Current line-up features the legendary Mike Herbage, Eddie Roxy and ex-PiL, Cowboys International and Brian Brain bassman Pete Jones, along with new guitarist Phil Thompson (who also plays for Bug) and Alex Lutes on drums (whose past credits include FMB and Night Nurse.)

The band played their first gig in London, September 1980. Their first single, “Is Vic There?”, was released in December 1980.  It was produced by former Mott The Hoople members Buffin and Overend Watts, and reached number 23 in the UK charts, aided by 3 appearances on Top Of The Pops.

The group recorded a session for DJ John Peel on 3 Dec.1980. The follow-up single, “Going Left Right“, was released on Stiff Records and hovered for a while outside the top 30 whilst the third single, I Want, was a hit in many European countries, Their album “Sub-Stance” subsequently released on LTM in 2003.

In February 2007, Department S recorded their first new single for twenty-six years, a cover version of Alvin Stardust‘s 1973 hit “My Coo-Ca-Choo”. Since then there have been a number of releases, including the well received LP “Mr Nutleys Strange Delusionarium” which featured guitarist Sam Burnett (ex-Back To Zero). Their 2010 single Wonderful Day featured on a TV commercial and featured guest appearances from Marco Pirroni and Glen Matlock.

Department S have built up a reputation as being a must-see live band and have subsequently played festival dates across Europe, including Glastonbury, Benicassim, Rebellion, Rewind, Great British Alternative Music Festival, Undercover and Sinner’s Day.

2016 sees the release of the 3rd Department S album “When All Is Said and All Is Done” along with a single of the same name…the rest is waiting to be written…